logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Troop Cart really IS better than the Desert Skiff
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 1:14 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
For some other reason, I just happened to be looking at the Rebel Troop Cart a few minutes ago, and I finally realized what a vast improvement this piece is over the Desert Skiff from BHs.

I'll lay it out here.

Rebel Troop Cart
Cost: 15
HP: 50
Def: 18
Att: +0
Dam: 0

Speed 8
Troop Cart


Desert Skiff
Cost: 23
HP: 60
Def: 13
Att: +5
Dam: 20

Flight
Mounted Weapon
Rigid
Speed 8
Rapport (w/ Jabba)
Desert Skiff


Now, on first glance (and what I initially thought about the new Troop Cart) there doesn't seem to be a whole lot of difference. For 8 points less, the Troop Cart gains 5 Def (which is definitely great), but loses 10 HP, all attack abilities, and Flight. The loss of Rigid is nice and Mounted Weapon is probably a hindrance to the Skiff, but those aren't really that big of a deal.

So, initially, my response was to shrug off the Troop Cart and say "Eh, it's just a cheaper Skiff. That's kind of dumb." Well, in order to see what's really interesting about this, we have to look closer at the definitions of Troop Cart and Desert Skiff.

One of the things that always hurt about the Skiff was the fact that if the Skiff was defeated, anybody riding on it was defeated as well if you failed a Save of 11. Not too bad if you've got Force Users or Bodyguards riding on the Skiff, but otherwise, that's pretty harsh. Well, the Troop Cart only requires a save of 6 for that same effect. That's an extra 25% chance that you won't be defeated. That's a huge difference in my book.

Secondly, the Desert Skiff ability says that for characters riding on the Skiff, you count range to those characters by counting range to the Skiff itself, and then adding 1 square. Well, the Troop Cart says you count range to the passengers, by counting range to the Troop Cart itself! While, I believe this means that normal Melee attackers (those without Reach) can attack the passengers as well, this means that Melee pieces without Melee Reach can make their attacks from the Cart without having to disembark. This also allows characters to be effectively 10 squares away from a Commander and still be subject to the CE.

So, while I still think the Troop Cart will be a situational piece, I now feel like I see what makes it different, and what might make it actually more playable than the Skiff. The Troop Cart will certainly be better if the rules are clarified that enemy Melee characters cannot attack the passengers. Guess we'll have to wait till tomorrow to see how that one works out.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 1:23 pm 
Sith Apprentice
Sith Apprentice
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:45 pm
Posts: 277
Location: Columbus, OH
Nice analysis Lobo, thank you!

-b


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 1:28 pm 
Death Star Designers
Death Star Designers
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 3886
But I can't use the Troop Cart in my Skiff of Doom squad. :cry:

_________________
Bloomilk Ambassador


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 1:34 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
LOL

You'll just have to come up with a Cart of Catastrophe squad instead. :P

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 1:34 pm 
Customizer Extrodinaire
Customizer Extrodinaire
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:30 pm
Posts: 596
Very nice analysis. Too bad im an Imp lover........

_________________
"The Force is like duct tape. It has a light side, a dark side, and it BINDS the galaxy together." -Anonymous

"Genius is 99% perspiration and 1% inspiration."
-Thomas Edison


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 1:49 pm 
Jedi Council
Jedi Council
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 4:03 pm
Posts: 1861
Location: Springfield
The extra range to attack something on the skiff is probabley because it has Flight. Since the RTC is down on the ground you can hit the passengers just as easily as the RTC itself.

_________________
Slinky + Escalator = Endless Fun


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:28 pm 
Grand Admiral
Grand Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:00 pm
Posts: 710
Location: Sterling, Illinois
Nice analysis.

The one upside to the skiff is that it has Flight. It can go through characters that the Troop Cart can't. Other than that, I agree. The Troop Cart is better.

_________________
Lady Luck is a fickle mistress.

She giveth, and she taketh away.

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:34 pm 
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:09 pm
Posts: 154
Location: Boston, MA
Quick question: if the troop cart doesn't have mounted weapon, is it considered living and thus subject to HEAL?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:44 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Haha, that's something I actually just noticed when playing around with Chuck's MM and the 'open booster' option. If you pull a Medic and a Troop Cart, I do believe you could put the Medic on the cart and heal it!

That is, of course, unless they goofed something up and there will be an errata on the Troop Cart tomorrow morning, lol.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:47 pm 
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:09 pm
Posts: 154
Location: Boston, MA
LOL, I was thinking the exact same thing. I was thinking too bad you couldn't just keep a medic on it for avoid defeat and... oh wait a minute :-)

Wouldn't be surprised if it is indeed supposed to have mounted weapon despite not having an attack.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:56 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
HAhahahaha, holy crap. Forgot about 2-1B. That's awesome. Heal 30 and Avoid Defeat for both the Troop Cart and the passengers! Sweet!

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 3:14 pm 
General
General

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 11:15 pm
Posts: 482
Location: Redmond, WA
I want to Lightsaber Sweep with someone on the cart. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 3:53 pm 
Hall of Fame Member
Hall of Fame Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 7:22 pm
Posts: 4982
its a huge without flight.

The cart will drag ass.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 3:59 pm 
Grand Admiral
Grand Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:00 pm
Posts: 710
Location: Sterling, Illinois
fingersandteeth wrote:
its a huge without flight.

The cart will drag ass.


Short, to the point, and accurate. You can't ask for a better reply than that.

_________________
Lady Luck is a fickle mistress.

She giveth, and she taketh away.

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 7:13 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Posts: 1543
Location: Central CT
shinja wrote:
I want to Lightsaber Sweep with someone on the cart. :)


This.....is genius!! :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 7:19 pm 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight

Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 1:21 pm
Posts: 321
Location: Lake Forest Park (The only cool Seattle suburb)
fingersandteeth wrote:
its a huge without flight.

The cart will drag ass.

True, but it will still be a good situational piece.

_________________
Aliit ori'shya taldin (mando'a for: family is more than blood)
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 8:45 pm 
Grand Admiral
Grand Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:42 pm
Posts: 928
And the figs on the troop cart only need a save of 6 to survive when the cart dies, while the figs on the skiff needed a save of 11 to survive, so the cart is definitely better. Not to mention that the cart could be part of Garn's reinforcements.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:23 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:08 pm
Posts: 599
Location: LFP, WA
Xanthan wrote:
Not to mention that the cart could be part of Garn's reinforcements.


Ooohhh :idea:

Get ready for the Carts of Catastrophe!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 5:25 am 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:04 pm
Posts: 326
Speaking of dragging... I wanted to put Dead Obi-Wan on it, to get him into battle quicker. Too bad he can't board it (since he's never considered adjacent). Maybe he can hitch a ride if he starts the skirmish on it?

Wonder what happens when you use Force Repulse while riding the Troop Cart? I suppose it probably takes damage, gets moved, and if it's destroyed you can disembark from wherever it happened to land, if you survive...

For 15 points this thing might have some uses.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 5:38 am 
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 11:55 pm
Posts: 171
Location: Tatooine aka Jax FL
barzillai wrote:
Speaking of dragging... I wanted to put Dead Obi-Wan on it, to get him into battle quicker. Too bad he can't board it (since he's never considered adjacent). Maybe he can hitch a ride if he starts the skirmish on it?

Wonder what happens when you use Force Repulse while riding the Troop Cart? I suppose it probably takes damage, gets moved, and if it's destroyed you can disembark from wherever it happened to land, if you survive...

For 15 points this thing might have some uses.

I wanna try Leia, HC with it or with the passengers. Could be fun.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Darth Ruthven and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield