logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Host on home network?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:25 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6583
Location: Southern IL
Sorry if this is covered somewhere, but has anyone managed to run this between 2 networked PC's at home?

I'd like to try this so my son and I can play practice games, and get really comfortable with it before playing matches online.

It would be great for us to be able to stop and resume matches without having our stuff laying around and at the mercy of the savage creatures roaming around our house (cats :wink:)

I have the gear, and (I think) the skills to do this, but don't quite know where to start with setting it up...

Any info/tips appreciated!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Host on home network?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:54 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Hmm....I'm not sure if this works or not, mostly because the options when you start Vassal are to 'Play Offline' or 'Play Online'. If your computers are not connected to the internet, but are connected to each other via LAN, it might work if you select the 'Play Online' option.

I would just say to grab two chairs and sit at one computer with each other. It'd be no different than sitting at a table with the map and miniatures in front of you. ;)

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Host on home network?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:37 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6583
Location: Southern IL
LoboStele wrote:
I would just say to grab two chairs and sit at one computer with each other. It'd be no different than sitting at a table with the map and miniatures in front of you. ;)


:oops: Please let me know when the forehead-slap smiley is available.

I guess I like to tinker, which usally means doing things the hard way :wink:

Hmm...and I also see an excuse to get a dual-keyboard/mouse/monitor setup 8)

Hehe, thanks for your thoughts.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Host on home network?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:32 am 
Third Jedi from the Left
Third Jedi from the Left
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:26 pm
Posts: 121
Also, (if the 2 computers are hooked up to the internet), you can go into File>Preferences, Server tab. Change the Dot from Default to peer-to-peer. Then click "connect", then "invite players". Right down the IP adress it gives you. Repeat on computer #2, but instead of writing the IP adress, type #1s in the address:port area, and hit "Invite".

In theory, that would work perfectly.
:lsfight:

_________________
Image
Image Image

ImageImage

"Slowly digesting the competition, one game at a time...belch"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Host on home network?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 7:55 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 6583
Location: Southern IL
yodarulz wrote:
Also, (if the 2 computers are hooked up to the internet), you can go into File>Preferences, Server tab. Change the Dot from Default to peer-to-peer. Then click "connect", then "invite players". Right down the IP adress it gives you. Repeat on computer #2, but instead of writing the IP adress, type #1s in the address:port area, and hit "Invite".

In theory, that would work perfectly.
:lsfight:


Thanks for that Yodarulz! I'll give that a try.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield