logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Vassal Issues
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 3:47 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:18 pm
Posts: 559
I hope this is the right place for this...

Anyway, my vassal keeps giving me a NullPointerException whenever I try to get online with it. Also, the site isn't working for me at all. Everytime I try to go to it I get the message that "internet explorer can not display the webpage" blah blah blah. Anyway, I thought it was just a vassal issue but I noticed people are playing online games here still (gvl forum) so...anybody know what I can do?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Vassal Issues
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 4:18 pm 
Sith Infiltrator
Sith Infiltrator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:41 pm
Posts: 1683
Location: Aboard the Anakin Solo, NJ
Hmm, maybe it had gotten corrupted by a Virus? Have you tried restarting your PC? If all else fails, you could delete-uninstall it, re-download it

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Vassal Issues
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 4:02 am 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 1:20 pm
Posts: 661
Or do what the sane people do and just get Firefox.

_________________
Image

[spoiler="crap"]
Quote:
MediocreMind
Support bacteria - it's the only culture some people have!

Code:
DCI Ranking
Star Wars Miniatures Constructed (as of 2008-09-15)
1826 rating   64 matches   21 events   
    37  All   33  North America   7  Canada   1  CA-Ontario   
[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Vassal Issues
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 6:40 am 
Sith Infiltrator
Sith Infiltrator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:41 pm
Posts: 1683
Location: Aboard the Anakin Solo, NJ
Yeah I am already using that, better then Internet Explorer. :)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Vassal Issues
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 10:16 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:18 pm
Posts: 559
DarkLordVerjal wrote:
Hmm, maybe it had gotten corrupted by a Virus? Have you tried restarting your PC? If all else fails, you could delete-uninstall it, re-download it


As I said, i can't get to the vassal site. Also, if it was an Internet Explorer issue it shouldn't effect the vassal program.

Decided to look around a bit, seems my friends computer is having the same problem running vassal....It works just fine till I try to go online with it.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Vassal Issues
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 6:53 am 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 6:30 am
Posts: 23
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Better yet, does anybody know how to get extension maps to work on a Mac-based system? It's a pain in the arse always having to use the standards. And if anybody says "get a real pc", I'll be forced to drive to your house and melt all your minis with a magnifying glass :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Vassal Issues
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 7:33 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Lord-Gonzo wrote:
Better yet, does anybody know how to get extension maps to work on a Mac-based system? It's a pain in the arse always having to use the standards. And if anybody says "get a real pc", I'll be forced to drive to your house and melt all your minis with a magnifying glass :twisted:


LOL, no worries on that man, as I'd back you up. I have Vassal running just fine on two Macs at home, and I have installed it on PCs as well before, so it definitely works across the board.


To Jedi_Master....we know you've had it working in the past, so this is odd. I would try different web browsers until you are able to access the Vassal website, then either see if there are any suggestions on there, send in bug help request, or do as Verjal suggested and delete/re-download the program.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Vassal Issues
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 10:26 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:18 pm
Posts: 559
LoboStele wrote:
Lord-Gonzo wrote:
Better yet, does anybody know how to get extension maps to work on a Mac-based system? It's a pain in the arse always having to use the standards. And if anybody says "get a real pc", I'll be forced to drive to your house and melt all your minis with a magnifying glass :twisted:


LOL, no worries on that man, as I'd back you up. I have Vassal running just fine on two Macs at home, and I have installed it on PCs as well before, so it definitely works across the board.


To Jedi_Master....we know you've had it working in the past, so this is odd. I would try different web browsers until you are able to access the Vassal website, then either see if there are any suggestions on there, send in bug help request, or do as Verjal suggested and delete/re-download the program.


okay, well, first off I have no clue why this was moved here...

On topic though, tried firefox, vassal site still doesn't work. The rest of the computer works perfectly fine, the vassal game works just fine till I try to get online with it. So...err...any more ideas?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Vassal Issues
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 7:13 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Have you tried deleting all your cookiees and temp internet files and such for getting to the website? That is REALLY weird, because I'm at work, and can still get to the Vassal website, when I typically can't access hardly anything else.

I have no idea how the Vassal program works, so why it won't let you online is beyond me. Might be a firewall type of thing? What has changed with your computer since the last time you were able to get Vassal to work right? Install any new programs or hardware?

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Vassal Issues
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 2:58 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:18 pm
Posts: 559
LoboStele wrote:
Have you tried deleting all your cookiees and temp internet files and such for getting to the website? That is REALLY weird, because I'm at work, and can still get to the Vassal website, when I typically can't access hardly anything else.

I have no idea how the Vassal program works, so why it won't let you online is beyond me. Might be a firewall type of thing? What has changed with your computer since the last time you were able to get Vassal to work right? Install any new programs or hardware?


Last thing I installed (and what I think the problem may be) is the new windows update, silverlight.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Vassal Issues
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 3:03 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Hah, well...OS updates are almost always the source of a problem. :P Yeah, I would see what you can do to get to the Vassal website, and send somebody there an email about it. Or possibly send a PM to Nickname, since he's close in with the Vassal stuff.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Vassal Issues
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 3:05 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:18 pm
Posts: 559
yeah, well, I wouldn't have downloaded it if it wern't for effing CCA (computer program the campus makes you use to access the internet, which makes you download all kinds of crap)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Vassal Issues
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 6:01 pm 
Unnamed Wookiee
Unnamed Wookiee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 9:11 pm
Posts: 22
my desktop computer is odd....have to start vassal from the website, and it will only start when I "X " out of the first try and download again....the laptop works fine

_________________
Do or Do Not.....or just get outta here punk.....
Approaching ...
B U C K E T H E A D L E V E L


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Vassal Issues
PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2008 3:22 pm 
Warmaster
Warmaster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:18 pm
Posts: 559
ok, yeah, so the school's server was the problem. It was blocking it and the site. I'm in a new server now and it works just fine.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: Vassal Issues
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2008 7:09 am 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Woot, nice! That was the biggest thing I always hated about the 'free' internet in the dorms. Always slow, and always causing unexpected problems, lol. Glad you got it figured out.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield