logo

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: The 1 point Crate.
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 9:04 am 
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:33 pm
Posts: 173
Crate
Cost: 1
HP: 10
Def: 8
Atk: -
Dam: -

Special abilities:
Non-living
Movable Emplacement: This character cannot move on its own nor change position through effects such as swap. This character is subject to effects which cause it to move, such as Lift and Force Push. This character can be set up anywhere on your half of the board at initial setup. This character cannot be activated, and cannot gain points if gambit rules are used. This character is not considered the closest target when determining a valid target. It is considered a character for determining cover.

Breakable: If this character is moved into a square containing another character, that character takes 10 damage, save 11. If the opposing character made its save, the crate stops in a square adjacent to the target selected by the character moving the crate. If the opposing character fails its save, this character is defeated. If this character is subject to a Force Whirlwind attack, all other character affected by the same attack take +10 damage if they fail their save.




The idea behind this is to provide a simple 1 point filler that interacts with the other characters. A crate is useful to hold open a door, or to provide mobile cover. It gives the T1 or ASP something to bash characters with. It gives those with Force Push another way to damage charaters, or spread the range of the effect.

Best of all, there are many 3D fold-up paper model sites that have 1 inch crates.

What do you think?

_________________
"All through our history the Black Company has suffered the ingratitude of our employers. Usually those blackguards received ample cause to regret their villainy."


Basic Studies: 397/540 [RS:51/60, CS:41/60, SITH:47/60, UNV:46/60, COTF:54/60, BH:51/60, AE:51/60, FU:51/60, LF:51/60]
Advanced: 47/102 [ATAT:1/1, ENDOR:4/4, R&I:5/24, SS2007:6/6, HBP:17/17; PROMOS 14/60]


Last edited by lt_murgen on Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:11 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: The 1 point Crate.
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:13 am 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:10 pm
Posts: 2004
Location: Minnesota
I like the concept. I think it needs to have something saying that it doesn't count as an activation and can't collect gambit or be used for victory points to keep it from being abused. Like it doesn't count as an enemy for purposes of movement. Things like this.

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: The 1 point Crate.
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 12:42 pm 
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:33 pm
Posts: 173
excellent point. I will adjust the above to reflect something like that.

I still think it needs to be considered a viable target, however. If someone wants to waste an activation to shoot and destroy it, then they would gain 1 point.

_________________
"All through our history the Black Company has suffered the ingratitude of our employers. Usually those blackguards received ample cause to regret their villainy."


Basic Studies: 397/540 [RS:51/60, CS:41/60, SITH:47/60, UNV:46/60, COTF:54/60, BH:51/60, AE:51/60, FU:51/60, LF:51/60]
Advanced: 47/102 [ATAT:1/1, ENDOR:4/4, R&I:5/24, SS2007:6/6, HBP:17/17; PROMOS 14/60]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: The 1 point Crate.
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 11:01 am 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:15 pm
Posts: 193
Location: Washington, USA
There is also issue of benefiting from CEs, which can be cleared up in defining Non-living. Don't want to leave any loop holes.

If it is not considered a valid target by targeting rules, why have a Def? Or did you mean, this character does not count as the closest character when choosing a target?

For the breakable SA, I would recommend that the crate is defeated regardless if the save is made or not. My reasoning is if ASP wields it as a weapon, it would break.


Of course this could lead to the creation of crate's big sister, Blast Crate. Cost 2, counts as a wall for cover purpose, immune to blaster fire and grenades 20 (destroyed by grenades 30 or higher, missiles, or lightsaber).

_________________
325 Jawas, 265 Jawa Scouts, 181 Jawa scavengers, 99 Jawa traders, 18 Jawa on Ronto...and counting.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: The 1 point Crate.
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:09 am 
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:33 pm
Posts: 173
good point about the targetting rules.

The intention is to make it so that characters without accurate shot did not HAVE to shoot the crate if it was the closest target. I will change the wording to reflect that.

As for breakable- if the ASP misses, the crate doesn't break. If it hits, it does. If the crate is in a Force whirlwind, it will take 20 points, just like anyone else. It breaks up, and the splinters do +10 to everyone else. I think the wording reflects this.

_________________
"All through our history the Black Company has suffered the ingratitude of our employers. Usually those blackguards received ample cause to regret their villainy."


Basic Studies: 397/540 [RS:51/60, CS:41/60, SITH:47/60, UNV:46/60, COTF:54/60, BH:51/60, AE:51/60, FU:51/60, LF:51/60]
Advanced: 47/102 [ATAT:1/1, ENDOR:4/4, R&I:5/24, SS2007:6/6, HBP:17/17; PROMOS 14/60]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: The 1 point Crate.
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 12:50 pm 
Imperial Dignitaries
Imperial Dignitaries
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Posts: 1543
Location: Central CT
Very cool idea and the fact that it can't count as an activation but it does cost points is very balancing. With that in mind you could have clusters to push around :)

_________________
Bottoms up and spirits down


Archives of the Gamers Jedi
is designed to be your official source for in-game rules questions!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: The 1 point Crate.
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 1:51 pm 
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
Really Cool Alien from a Cantina
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:33 pm
Posts: 173
The one issue I thought of was this scenario:

Force User A replaces thier attack with a force push, to send a crate skittering across the floor and adjacent to a door. They then can move up to 6 squares.

Is the door considered open BEFORE the force user moves, so they can move through it?

My contention would be that "yes" it would. A door is considered open at the end of the activating character's move. In this case, that character is the crate, not the Force User. Thus, it would open and allow the force user to move through it.

Anyone see issues with this?

_________________
"All through our history the Black Company has suffered the ingratitude of our employers. Usually those blackguards received ample cause to regret their villainy."


Basic Studies: 397/540 [RS:51/60, CS:41/60, SITH:47/60, UNV:46/60, COTF:54/60, BH:51/60, AE:51/60, FU:51/60, LF:51/60]
Advanced: 47/102 [ATAT:1/1, ENDOR:4/4, R&I:5/24, SS2007:6/6, HBP:17/17; PROMOS 14/60]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: The 1 point Crate.
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:13 pm 
Master of the Order
Master of the Order
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 pm
Posts: 7960
Location: West Chester, OH (near Cincinnati)
Doors only open at the end of the ACTING character's turn. The situation you are describing is no different than using Force Push on any enemy as the game works right now. You do not check for doors to be open/closed until the end of a character's turn. When you Force Pushed the crate next to the door, did any character end its turn? No, you only ended your attack phase. AFTER you end your movement phase as well, THEN the door would open.

I would make the Crate more like Obi/Luke FS where it can't open doors.

_________________
-Aaron
Mand'alor
"You either die a hero, or you live to see yourself become the villain."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Offline
 Post subject: Re: The 1 point Crate.
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 7:00 am 
Third Jedi from the Left
Third Jedi from the Left
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 9:03 am
Posts: 135
It should have more hp, heck, right now, a stormtrooper could blast it away ;)

_________________
"Right, my trigger finger just "slipped" Sarge"

"Jackson: What's this?
Carter: This is ethylpropyl...
Jackson: Which is?
Carter: Nerve gas.
Jackson: Okay. Putting that back."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Mark forums read

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by Scott Stubblefield